State Licensing Information

The Colorado State Board of Psychologist Examiners regulates Licensed Psychologists in the State of Colorado (through the Department of Regulatory Agencies -- DORA). Board activities include review of licensure applications and complaints and enforcement of disciplinary actions against violators of the Mental Health Practice Act or Board Rule. The Board consists of seven members, three public and four professionals, who meet six times per year

All licensing in Colorado is handled by the Department of Regulatory Agencies. Please contact the State Board of Psychologist Examiners if you have any questions concerning licensing, rules, and regulations in regard to Psychology in Colorado.

State Board of Psychologist Contact Information:

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-894-7800 | Fax: 303-894-7764

Email: [email protected] | Website: 

Treating Patients out of State  

If you are a licensed psychologist outside of the state of Colorado and have questions about treating a patient who has moved to Colorado, or temporarily living in Colorado, please reference the following resources below:

The Mental Health Practice Act, p.19

Scope of article – exemption from licensure in CRS 12-245-217(2)(e) which allows up to 20 days of practice into CO without a license.  Anything longer term than that requires a CO license or ePassport through PSYPACT (see link below).

A person who resides in another state and who is currently licensed or certified as a psychologist, marriage and family therapist, clinical social worker, professional  counselor, or addiction counselor in that state to the extent that the licensed or certified person performs activities or services in this state, if the activities and services are:

  1. Performed within the scope of the person’s license or certification;
  2. Do not exceed twenty days per year in this state;
  3. Are not otherwise in violation of this article 245; and
  4. Disclosed to the public that the person is not licensed or certified in this state; 
About The Mental Health Practice Act

PsyPact CO Rev Stat 24-60-3902 (2018)

BB.”Temporary Authorization to Practice” means: a licensed psychologist’s authority to conduct temporary in-person, face-to-face practice, within the limits authorized under this Compact, in another Compact State.

CC. “Temporary In-Person, Face-to-Face Practice” means: where a psychologist is physically present (not through the use of telecommunications technologies), in the Distant State to provide for the practice of psychology for 30 days within a calendar year and based on notification to the Distant State.

About PsyPact

The Colorado State Board of Psychologist Examiners Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Requirements

Effective after the 2017 license renewal, or upon the completion of the first renewal of a license thereafter, 40 hours of continuing professional development (CPD) must be completed every 24 month registration period.

The current period is September 1, 2021 -through August 31, 2023; 40 hours of continuing professional development are required for 2019 licensure renewal; One (1) continuing education hour (CE) is equivalent to one (1) professional development hour (PDH)

What is required, how to comply? Read Here