Event Calendar
Prev MonthPrev Month Next MonthNext Month
Trust 4 Hour Webinar on Suicide Risk Assessment, November 30, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018, 1:30 AM - 5:30 PM EST
Category: Events

Suicidality Webcast:
Clinical, Ethical and Risk Management Issues
 
Friday, November 30, 2018
1:30 - 5:30pm EST | 4 CE Credits
 
Hosted By:
The Trust & The Trust Practice and
Risk Management Association (TrustPARMA)
 
Presented By:
Dan Taube, J.D., Ph.D.
Expert Advocate Instructor
 
 
Nearly 25% of psychologists will lose a patient to suicide during the course of their careers. It’s a sobering reminder of how devastating mental illness is, and how important it is to recognize the technical, personal, and ethical challenges clinicians face in the assessment and treatment of such patients.
 
The depth of suffering experienced by patients who seriously consider, attempt, or die by suicide is profound, and for a good portion of psychologists the challenges are unavoidable. Advances in treatment approaches, and a historical lack of specific training at the graduate level, have prompted an increasing number of jurisdictions to mandate post-graduate training regarding suicidality.
 
This webcast is intended to address clinical, ethical and risk management aspects of working with people who are suicidal. It will review basic risk management approaches, and relevant aspects of assessment, intervention and postvention and, time permitting, will also include review of basic issues in addressing clinician involvement in end-of-life issues.
 
Learning Objectives
  1. Identify four major risk factors for those patients who die by suicide.
  2. Name two suicide myths.
  3. Describe three aspects of assessment and intervention that can foster reduced risk.
  4. List three risk management strategies as they relate specifically to working with suicidal patients.
  5. Describe two aspects of clinician’s roles in working with end-of-life issues (time permitting).
Webcast Details
We’ve arranged for the workshop to be streamed live anywhere you have internet access. You’ll follow the same schedule as the on-site attendees and be able to ask the instructor questions. Because time zone changes can be tricky, we’ve provided it for you below. Go here for details and to register for the online webcast.
 
  • Eastern: 1:30 – 5:30pm (login begins at 1pm)
  • Central: 12:30 – 4:30pm (login begins at 12pm)
  • Mountain: 11:30am – 3:30pm (login begins at 11am)
  • Pacific: 10:30am – 2:30pm (login begins at 10am)
Online Webcast Registration