CPA Celebrates RxP and Honors Key Players

CPA members and guests celebrated the passage of the Prescriptive Privileges Bill (HB23-1071) into law on the evening of Friday, April 21st 2023 with a celebration on the DU campus following CPA's Spring Symposium. The passing of this bill was a monumental accomplishment worthy of a celebratory party.

Awards were presented to Jin Lee, PsyD, MSCP, BCB and Healthier Colorado. Other awardees were Rep. Judy Amabile, Rep. Mary Bradfield, Senator Cleave Simpson and Senator Steve Fenberg. Unfortunately, the legislators were unable to attend the party due to evening sessions.

Jin Lee, PsyD, MSCP, BCB, was given the "President's Award" for outstanding service to psychology. Jin began working on this campaign about 4 years ago, spending weekends, lunch breaks and evenings on the phone with CPA's lobbyist, Jeannie Vanderburg, figuring out their strategy. Jin did all the research, put together a thoughtful proposal, garnered support from CPA leadership and membership, and gathered a group of stellar psychologists and stakeholders to support her efforts. Without Jin's hard work and commitment, this bill would simply not have passed. 

CPA President, Brian Beaumund and Jin Lee

Healthier Colorado was given the "Friend of Psychology" award for their support and hard work to allow psychologists to prescribe in Colorado. Healthier Colorado is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization dedicated to raising the voices of Coloradans in the public policy process to improve the health of our state’s residents. Last year, Healthier Colorado generously agreed to support our efforts to pursue prescriptive authority and we couldn’t have done it without them. They brought a professional communications team, helped us prepare witnesses and do research as needed. Their amazing policy, communication and lobbying team were integral to getting this bill across the finish line.

Alexis Alltop of Healthier Colorado and Brian Beaumund

 Thank you to the CPA Board members who were on hand to celebrate!

Left to right: Denise Vargas, Gabe Casher, Monica Corrado, Jin Lee, Brian Beaumund, Neal Brugman