The Colorado State Board of Psychologist Examiners Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Requirements

Effective after the 2017 license renewal, or upon the completion of the first renewal of a license thereafter, 40 hours of continuing professional development (CPD) must be completed every registration period. Registration period means the twelve-month period for which a license is being renewed.

  • Current period: September 1, 2017 - August 31, 2019
  • 40 hours of CE are required for 2019 licensure renewal
  • One (1) continuing education hour (CE) is equivalent to one (1) professional development hour (PDH)

What is required, how to comply?

  • The development, execution and documentation of a learning plan.
    • There is an optional self-assessment tool, to determine your learning goals, and it’s available on the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies website. Reflective Self-Assessment (RSAT)
  • Completion of at least 40 hours of continuing professional development (CPD). It is your responsibility to find programs that meet the requirements in the categories defined in the statute; they are not pre-approved by the Board.
    • Categories include: coursework, ethics, developing and teaching an academic course, graduate coursework, presenting, publication, editorial review
      • Per Section 12-43-307 (2)(b)(I)(A), coursework includes: 
        • Attending workshops, symposia, seminars, colloquia, invited speaker sessions, postdoctoral institutes or scientific or professional programs offered at meetings of local, state, regional and national or international professional or scientific organizations.
        • Activities may include online continuing education
        • With the exception of 5 PDH, activities must qualify as continuing education units or continuing medical education credit approved by the APA, state medical association Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education or by a regionally accredited institution of higher education
  • Documentation of all CPD hours.
    • There is a learning plan form, to record your PDH’s (CEs) should you be audited, and it’s available on the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies website. Learning Plan
    • You must have a documentation transcript or certificate of attendance.
  • 1 Ethics course required


Exemptions

  • The only exemption allowed is a military exemption: Active duty serving in an officially designated war or emergency.

Everything you need to know:

 

The Colorado Psychological Association is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. CPA maintains responsibility for this program and its contents.